SSL error: Leaf certificate is expired

Greetings! I’ve been enjoying MXroute for about 6 months now, encountered my first snag.

Using Gmail as a POP/SMTP client for several email accounts on friday.mxroute.com has worked extremely well until about a week ago (December 25 2019) when all accounts hosted there return the error “SSL error: Leaf certificate is expired” when trying to retrieve messages. Since then, none of my accounts (or client accounts) hosted there have been able to pull from Gmail. None have any other clients to try.

I tried reconfiguring the POP at gmail using different ports (993, 995, 110) but always get the same error. The linked “help” is not helpful, just Generic Google how to setup remote email.

Google search tells me that if this is not an actual expired CA certificate, it may be Gmail not wanting to talk to self-signed servers (but that note was from 2012). https://www.digicert.com/ssl-support/gmail-pop3-troubleshooting.htm

Am I missing something obvious, or can someone assist? Thanks in advance and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

SSL%20Leaf%20Expired%202

Apologies for the trouble. cPanel has acknowledged an issue that needs to be fixed in a future version, that is currently causing AutoSSL to fail to automatically renew custom hostname certificates on cPanel servers (mail.yourdomain.tld, webmail.yourdomain.tld). The temporary workaround for this is to log in to cPanel, click Custom SSL, and click Run AutoSSL.

Using the server hostname instead of your custom hostname would bypass this issue entirely, but that isn’t something you should have to do. As soon as the patch is out, I’ll apply it.

Ah, so that’s why I had to manually run AutoSSL a few days ago!

@Jarland thank you for the quick response. Auto SSL did the trick, and all gmail clients are able to fetch emails from friday.server once again.

Happy New Year!

Hi, I fell over this one 3 months ago and applied the ‘manual run’ fix.