Newbie here seeking guidance

New to mail hosting and quite surprised to find out that there are no basic instructions provided for a start… At least I din’t find them as KB is thin as as leaf.

I received a welcome email with settings for DNS MX RECORDS, DNS TXT RECORDS (REQUIRED) and DKIM but nothing about WHERE & HOW to use them: registrar, cPanel, MXroute?

Sure that maybe sounds evident to most people here but there’s always a “first time” and some basic instructions would be welcome.

Thanks!

PS: not to mention that I was expecting a cPanel dashboard and getting something else ads to the confusion…

1 Like

Hey friend,

Thanks for signing up! I understand it’s a bit of a hurdle, but we do have a few tutorials here:

https://mxroutehelp.com

There is, however, a reason that I stated on the front page that you need to know how to configure DNS records to use the service. If you’re not sure where to configure your DNS records (the location of which being something only you know and control), you have a significant disadvantage here that may cause you continued frustration down the line. If you’d prefer a refund, I’d be happy to give that to you.

Thanks but that’s not what I was expecting.
Those tutorials are not helping in my case and I don’t well understand what do you mean by “you need to know how to configure DNS records”. Is it so complicated to just post a tutorial about “how to configure DNS records” that you prefer to keep away those who don’t yet know? I can Google it of course but thought I could find some basic information here.

No problem. I don’t need a refund, thanks. I just want to learn.
First thing I learned is that there won’t be much help here.

OK, well noted but don’t even understand the meaning of that sentence “When you configure your nameservers at your registrar, it is an expectation that you will know where your DNS is hosted.”